FAQs (if you get stuck!)
Q: SPIES – HOW DO THEY WORK?
A: Spies are sneaky, releasing cards from the walls into the game. Simply show a Spy to the other players and then swap it face down for any wall card, including your own. Leave it there and take that wall card into your hand to use immediately or on a subsequent turn.
Q: WHAT ARE THE BOULDERS ON THE CARDS?
A: The little boulders on the cards are ammo and are used with a Catapult to attack your opponents. Cards that have boulders on them can be played in one of two ways: either ignore the boulders and play the card normally (e.g. a Jacko), or use the boulders to carry out a Catapult attack. See the Catapult card and Example 2.
Q: WHEN AM I OUT OF THE GAME?
A: Your game ends when your last wall card falls and only your Kingster and Queenie are left. Note: if a Jacko has been placed to repair the wall on your next turn and you’re attacked before your turn, then the Jacko hasn’t completed the job and you’re still out of the game.
Q: WHAT HAPPENS TO DESTROYED WALLS?
A: The wall card is placed on the discard pile along with any other cards that were on the wall at the time (including the attacker’s cards just played on the wall).
Q: WHEN DO I ATTACK OR DEFEND?
A: You can attack on your turn. You can defend yourself out of turn by playing any cards in your hand that have a red dot (play then continues with the attacker).
Q: HOW MUCH CAN A JACKO REBUILD?
A: A Jacko can never rebuild more than the original number of walls but can rebuild in any available space.
Q: KINGSTER & QUEENIE – WHAT DO THEY DO?
A: Nothing. They’re just there for the tourists. Check the website for some variant rules where the royals have to work a bit harder than in the standard game.
Q: WHEN SHOULD I USE A CATAPULT?
A: Keeping them secret protects them while you build ammo cards, but they take up hand space. Once played, they can be stolen or destroyed, even before firing a shot. You can’t take them back into your hand, so choose your moment wisely.
Q: WHEN DO I DRAW NEW CARDS?
A: You can only draw new cards at the beginning of your turn, before you begin your attacks. Drawing from the discard pile is not allowed (dead saboteurs and broken catapults are not very effective).
Q: HOW DO I LAY MY ATTACK CARDS?
A: Lay your cards so that you can still see part of the kastle wall beneath (see Example 1).
Q: CAN I PLAY MULTIPLE ATTACK CARDS ON A WALL CARD?
A: You can only lay one type of each attack card on a wall. Exception: you can combine a Gunpowder card and Flaming Arrow card to attack the same wall card.
Q: If I hit a wall with a catapult strike and it has one or more adjacent Gunpowder kegs on it does it blow up and start a chain reaction?
A: No! no chain reaction as Gunpowder needs fire to explode not rocks but it does destroy the wall, or walls if multiple strikes are targeted.