fbpx
Select Page

Q: SPIES – WHERE CAN THEY LOOK?

A: Spies are sneaky, releasing cards from the walls into the game. Simply show a Spy card to the other players and then swap it face down for any wall card, including your own. Leave it there and take that wall card into your hand to use immediately or on a subsequent turn.

Q: WHAT ARE THE BOULDERS ON THE CARDS?

A: The little boulders on the cards are ammo and are used with a Catapult card to attack your opponents. Cards that have boulders on them can be played in one of two ways: either ignore the boulders and play the card normally (e.g. a Jacko), or use the boulders as part of a Catapult attack. See rule card and Example 2.

Q: WHEN AM I OUT OF THE GAME?

A: When your last wall card falls and only your Kingster and Queenie are left. Also, if a Jacko is rebuilding your last wall (i.e. has been placed to repair the wall on your next turn) if you’re attacked before your go, then he hasn’t completed the job and you’re still out of the game.

Q: WHAT HAPPENS TO DESTROYED WALLS?

A: The wall card is placed on the discard pile along with any other cards that were on the wall at the time (including the attacker’s cards just played on the wall).

Q: HOW MUCH CAN A JACKO REBUILD?

A: A Jacko can never rebuild more than the original number of walls but can rebuild in any available space.

Q: WHEN DO I ATTACK OR DEFEND?

A: You can attack on your turn. You can defend yourself out of turn by playing any cards in your hand that have a red dot . Play then continues with the attacker.

Q: KINGSTER & QUEENIE – WHAT DO THEY DO?

A: Nothing. They’re just there for the tourists. Check the website for some variant rules where the royals have to work a bit harder than in the standard game.

Q: WHEN DO I USE A CATAPULT?

A: Keep them secret for as long as you like, but remember they do free up your hand cards once you play them. You can’t then take them back into your hand once played.

Q: WHEN DO I DRAW NEW CARDS?

A: You can only draw new cards at the beginning of your turn, before you begin your attacks. Drawing from the discard pile is not allowed (dead saboteurs and broken catapults are not very effective).

Q: HOW DO I LAY MY ATTACK CARDS?

A: Lay your cards so that you can still see part of the kastle wall beneath (see Example 1).

Q: CAN I PLAY MORE THAN ONE ATTACK CARD ON A WALL?

A: You can only lay one type of each attack card on a wall. Exception: you can combine a Gunpowder card and Flaming Arrow card to attack the same wall.

Got a Kastles question? Drop us a line or tweet us @gunpowder